Every now and again you will have to add a new user to Microsoft Dynamics CRM. When adding this new user you need to decide if the user should have a ‘Full’ or ‘Limited’ license.

In CRM 4.0, a limited license meant that the user could only have read-only access. However, now in CRM 2011 there are options to allow other permissions, which can be very handy!

There will be times when you want some users to have ‘Limited’ access only. The license type defaults to ‘Full’, but on the user form you will find an option to selected ‘Limited’ license.  It is essential to know the differences between ‘Full’ and ‘Limited’ license to protect and maintain your data. There are also options of Device Full and Device Limited.

Device Full and Device Limited

This option allows you to limit users to a particular device. So rather than having to have several different licenses for different users working on the same device, you now have one license for the one device.

DeviceFull

Full License

A ‘full’ license is fairly intuitive,  allowing users to access all data through web and Outlook clients. In addition, it  allows the user full read/write access to a server.

Limited License

Recently there have been some changes added to the limited license, which enables more options and enhances permissions to allow basic create and update permissions for standard users. Although there have been slight changes in the limited license, it still provides a read-only option to the entire system.

Users with limited licenses are able to update, append/append to any record created by other users in accounts, contacts, leads, notes, cases, activities, custom active entities and accounts. This grants limited licence users with pretty much full access to these records. They can also follow, comment and post activity feeds in accounts, standard entities, contacts, leads and opportunities.

Limited users can only have ‘append to’ permissions for customer non-activity entities.  Although, API limited users can still create and edit.

Limited users can add, update and delete the core records they have added themselves.  The limited license user will not have permissions to share, assign or delete these records through the client. This also applies through the API. Although they cannot create, update or delete custom entities or use workflows, reports or dashboards, these users can still view them.

Limited CALS license is a great option for when you have infrequent users or users who have a specific role, such as data-entry users who only need basic access. Limited CAL license is a cheaper option (around 30% lower than the Full CAL license price), and it can always be upgraded to a Full license later  if required (Full Use Additive Cal)  for full access to all functionalities.

For more on licencing and pricing click here.

 

 

 

Like this post? Share it!